sparkvast.blogg.se

Instapaper bookmarklet
Instapaper bookmarklet












instapaper bookmarklet
  1. #Instapaper bookmarklet free#
  2. #Instapaper bookmarklet windows#

You can't imagine how quickly you can open up, read, and close tabs using this kind of a setup. I can currently perform all of the above mentioned task as well as Zoom in and out and perform multi-select all using buttons on the mouse. The single most important thing that I have done in the last few years regarding productivity is buying a better mouse with more buttons and configure those buttons specifically for my most common application tasks. Then you just have to optimize your tab management tasks: Opening, closing, re-using, re-arranging, and tab switching. I may try using instapaper to fill that hole.Īlso, while 43 tabs may be a bit much, I find that I can comfortably work on a dual monitor machine with a dozen tabs open on each monitor. The folders get synced to all of my other computers, so they work well for saving pages for long term, but I do sometimes have issues where I start reading something from Google Reader and then get side tracked and never come back to it. I use a combination of Google Reader and ToRead/ToWatch/ToCode/ToBlog/ToBuy folders in Google Chrome. I find that the simple introduction of these two tools, Instapaper for Reading Later and Readability for Reading Now not only allow me to consume and collect MORE information than before, but I'm slightly less stressed out while I'm doing it.

#Instapaper bookmarklet windows#

I have another bookmarklet called Readability.Īnd as Rob Conery likes to say pressing it "is like closing the car windows while driving on the freeway." Recently I wanted to read this article on overclocking my motherboard. Sometimes I want to read something right now, but the site I'm looking at is just too busy. I can of course also read from my phone (I'm working on a Windows Phone 7 version) or whatever device makes me happy. Everything here is focused on text and making the content I'm consuming more soluble. It also adds a little bar at the top where I can select between readable fonts, change the width, font size and line spacing. The Instapaper filter is a lot like Readability (more on that later) in that it removes the non-content parts of the article. I'll click "Text" for Phil's article using a filter. Here's an interesting bit, while I can click the link for Phil and visit his site, I don't. It knows what I've read, what I've starred and what's been articled. There's the articles I've saved lately, with new ones first. I've got time and I've collected a few interesting bits that I'm looking forward to reading. I'll click "Read Later" in my bookmarks bar, and I see this notification.įast forward some hours. I visit the page and while it looks interesting, he's SO loquacious and I'm busy now. Lets say I see this article by Phil Haack tweeted. You can even have your Instapaper queue sent over to your Kindle if it makes you happy. Anywhere you find stuff you want to read later. The bookmarklet even works from within Google Reader. If it's not setup on all your machines in any browser where you might find content, you'll fall back to old habits and not use it. I've got a bookmarklet for Instapaper in my bookmark bar on all my computers in all my browsers. Whenever you find something long that you KNOW you want to read but you just don't have time now, don't open a tab. You'll either Read It Now or Read It Later. Here's what I do.Ĭonsider this new workflow. This is not cool and I refuse to use the web in this way anymore. Then, maybe your browser crashes or your system reboots or something locks up or you get confused as to why you wanted to read that in the first place.

#Instapaper bookmarklet free#

Then, at some point in your copious free time, and possibly while reading other more pressing things, you'll read these 43 tabs, right? Even better, some of the articles are 8 pages long so you'll load up pages 1-4 and 6 and you don't even know why. You get a link in email, Twitter, Facebook, IM, whatever and you open it in a new tab.














Instapaper bookmarklet